July 17, 2019, 06:06:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Putting injuries and illness behind me..  (Read 13179 times)
Loafman

« on: January 07, 2017, 12:38:16 AM »

Hi all, hope all of you are well. I still recognise a number of the names here, although I've been missing from the forum for 6 years or so..  Shocked

Don't know if anyone will remember me.. but I've been on and off the forum for 10 years or more! The reason I vanished is because I had a pretty rough time of things a while back, not that I'm feeling sorry for myself.. quite the opposite actually..  Grin

Over the years I've had quite a few issues with my lower spine, and each time I've decided to get back into training, something has gone wrong.. which is the reason why I vanished from here back in 2011, shortly after returning from a back injury  Roll Eyes

I started a training journal back in 2010, and was making pretty good progress.. until.. I stacked my pushbike whilst off-roading and mashed myself up again. I'm good at doing things like that. At least it wasn't a motorbike this time  Roll Eyes

I was in quite a lot of pain for a number of months, and was unable to do very much at all.. even walking was painful. It was a rather depressing time, and I'm embarrassed to admit that alcohol became my good friend.

For years I found myself drinking on a daily basis, even after my back had become a lot better. It was early last year that I decided I should do something about the drinking, so I went cold turkey and banned myself from buying alcohol. If I'm honest, the main trigger was that a childhood friend of mine died from liver disease in late 2015 after many years of heavy drinking.